top of page

Yoga with Melina

Yoga is an ancient practice which can be interpreted in many different ways. Around 2,000 years ago an Indian sage named Patanjali interpreted the practice of yoga into a text known as the Yoga Sutras, which explained the eight limbs of yoga: the yamas (abstinences), niyamas (observances), asanas (postures), pranayama (breath control), pratyahara (withdrawal of the senses), dharana (concentration), dhyana (meditation) and samadhi (enlightenment and liberation). By exploring and practising these limbs, we can work towards achieving samadhi. 

The 'yoga' we are most commonly familiar with relates to the third limb of yoga: the series of physical postures (asanas) designed to increase strength and stability, improve health and balance, and promote stamina needed for meditation. By regularly practising the eight limbs of yoga, we encourage all-round good health, well-being and purification of the body and soul. By embracing the philosophical teachings from the Yoga Sutras, we can continue on our journey to reach samadhi. 

Meditation by the Sea
bottom of page